Our Blog

Advice to help you live your healthiest life, covering fitness, nutrition, mental health, self-care and much more.

8 Nova Scotia physicians honoured for their work

Nova Scotia is home to many innovative and talented physicians. The association’s annual achievement awards are one way that Doctors Nova Scotia (DNS) celebrates the dedication of its members, physicians who go beyond the call of duty, but are rarely acknowledged for their hard work.

This year, Doctors Nova Scotia honoured eight physicians for exemplary achievement.

Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Robert Liwski, PhD, FRCPC
Hematopathologist Dr. Robert Liwski is being honoured with the Distinguished Service Award for his excellence in improving care and safety for organ transplant and stem-cell transplant patients in Atlantic Canada. He is head of the Division of Hematopathology, medical director of the HLA Laboratory and professor of pathology at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax. He maintains an active research program while teaching and mentoring trainees of all levels, and also sits on numerous national and international boards. Meet Dr. Liwski

Dr. William Grigor Award: Dr. Morgan MacKenzie
Dr. Morgan MacKenzie is being honoured with the Dr. William Grigor Award for her outstanding contributions serving newcomers to Nova Scotia. A family doctor in Halifax, Dr. MacKenzie works at the Newcomer Health Clinic and the North End Community Health Centre. Since 2015, she has been a steadfast presence at the Newcomer Health Clinic, providing tireless service for some of Nova Scotia’s most vulnerable people. A gifted educator and mentor, she enjoys working with medical students and residents at the clinic. Meet Dr. MacKenzie

Community Family Physician of the Year Award: Dr. David Nunn, M.Sc. FCFP
Dr. David Nunn receives the Community Family Physician of the Year Award in recognition of his contributions as a family physician, educator and leader. He has practised in Kentville for 31 years, where he works in a collaborative family practice. He is a community preceptor for the Department of Family Medicine at the Annapolis Valley site, as well as its director of continuing professional development. Meet Dr. Nunn

Community Specialist of the Year Award: Dr. Stacey Northgrave, M.Sc., FRCPC
Dr. Stacey Northgrave is being honoured with the Community Specialist of the Year Award for her dedication in providing dermatological care for people in Cape Breton and eastern Nova Scotia. A pillar of the Cape Breton medical community since starting her Sydney practice in 2003, Dr. Northgrave is currently one of just two dermatologists working east of Halifax. She practises comprehensive, community-based dermatology in an area with high rates of chronic disease. Meet Dr. Northgrave

Physician Health Promotion Award: Dr. Leah Genge, CCFP AM
Family physician Dr. Leah Genge is being recognized with the Physician Health Promotion Award for her work and leadership with marginalized populations in Nova Scotia. Dr. Genge is the physician for the Mobile Outreach Street Health (MOSH) program, which provides care to people who are homeless, marginally housed and street­ involved. She practises at the Spryfield Medical Centre providing primary care and addiction medicine services, including opioid agonist therapy. She also works at Direction 180 in Halifax and with Nova Scotia Health’s Addiction Medicine consult service. Meet Dr. Genge

Dr. Clement Ligoure Award: Dr. Robert Strang, MHSc., FRCPC
Dr. Robert Strang is receiving the Dr. Clement Ligoure Award in honour of his dedication and service leading Nova Scotia’s public health response during the COVID-19 pandemic. Dr. Strang has been in practice for 25 years. Since the start of COVID-19, he has been both the public face and the behind-the-scenes leader of Nova Scotia’s pandemic response. In the role of chief medical officer of health, he has helped make Nova Scotia one of the safest places in the world, protecting Nova Scotians, front-line health-care workers and the health system. Meet Dr. Strang

Doctors Nova Scotia Senior Membership Award and Canadian Medical Association Honorary Membership Award: Dr. Margaret Casey
Dr. Margaret Casey is being honoured for her career as a champion of health care for underserved communities, her commitment to medical education and her advocacy for newcomers and older Nova Scotians. She is receiving two honours: the Doctors Nova Scotia Senior Membership Award and the Canadian Medical Association Honorary Membership Award. Dr. Casey spent 25 of her 37 years in practice in Halifax at the North End Community Health Centre, a pioneer of collaborative care in Nova Scotia. Meet Dr. Casey

Doctors Nova Scotia Senior Membership Award: Dr. Ismail Cajee CCFP(EM)
Dr. Ismail Cajee receives the Doctors Nova Scotia Senior Membership Award in recognition of his decades of service to emergency medicine in Nova Scotia. He has worked in the emergency department at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax since 1997, but his work does not stop there: he also provides care at several regional and rural community hospitals across the province. Dr. Cajee is an assistant professor in the Division of Emergency Medicine and is the program coordinator for PGY1 and PGY2 residents in emergency medicine at Dalhousie University. Meet Dr. Cajee

Want more information on healthy living and health-care delivery sent directly to your inbox? Subscribe to our newsletter to get all of our content first!

Nova Scotia quick links

Drop-in vaccination clinics in Nova Scotia
Getting vaccinated against COVID-19
List of COVID-19 exposures in Nova Scotia
Getting tested for COVID-19
Public Health mobile testing unit locations
Rapid testing locations
Self-isolating guidelines
Mental health and well-being

Nova Scotia COVID-19 resources
Download the free COVID Alert app